A Response From the Monkey Boys

It was bound to happen, once I uploaded a page on my trip to the Creation Museum for the world to see. Even more so when I posted links to it elsewhere, so that my online friends could see it. One of them is Helena Lehman, the webmaster behind PillarOfEnoch.com, who I’ve known since 1999; as you can see, she wrote some nice words about my pictures. However, some evolutionists saw the pictures as well, and their words weren’t so kind. Evidently they followed the link I posted on FreeRepublic.com, and reposted it in their own forum, Darwin Central. I’m not sure why they call Free Republic “TOS”; my guess is that it means “The Other Site,” and they’re calling it that because they were banned by the Free Republic moderators, the so-called “Viking Kitties.”

To start with, the person who posted the link was astonished that the Tower of Babel story would be included, and insisted that languages evolved too, just like people. I wonder which theory of language evolution he likes best, the “Bow-Wow Theory,” the “Ding-Dong Theory,” or the “Pooh-Pooh Theory?”

Another participant said, “Well, we already knew that the *museum*’s customers would be on the lower end of the IQ spectrum; the commentary provided for that photo spread confirms this.” They don’t know me very well, do they? How different from the atheist who offered me friendship in 1998, because according to him, I was one of the few people he met from the other side that wasn’t among the “illiterati!”

Obviously these folks didn’t click on the links I provided on the Creation Museum page, to explain some of what I meant. They might have liked the mango reference, for instance; Leive certainly did.

Recently I have been considering a short essay or commentary to explain that just because I’m a fundamentalist doesn’t mean I’m not open to hear other ideas or try new innovations. It is my belief that science and religion are perfectly capable of getting along; they did in the two centuries between Galileo and Darwin, after all. Maybe this will encourage me to do it sooner, when I get my thoughts composed on the subject.

Now the Real Summer Begins

According to the weatherman, today the temperature is finally set to go above 90 degrees, with strong winds in western and central Kentucky. An interesting combination; I remember lots of hot days in Florida, but not too many hot & windy ones (the winds came right before a thunderstorm).

Speaking of thunderstorms, the one we got on Tuesday afternoon was more like what Leive & I are used to, except for the pea to marble-sized hail that fell around 5:15. Fortunately there wasn’t any damage to our property; later a co-worker told me about getting damaged plants from even larger hailstones. To prove her point, she put a picture on her computer of a hail-covered doorstep, with her husband’s foot in it to show the size of everything. Then she joked about the husband having “one foot on earth and the other in hail,” LOL.

This morning I woke up to hear the radio announcing that the Anaheim Mighty Ducks have won the Stanley Cup, for the first time in the 14 years since that hockey team was founded. Somebody ought to make a movie about this; oops, they already have. Remember when central Florida’s team, the Tampa Bay Lightning, got the title in 2004 and kept it for a second year because of a player’s strike?