The January 2016 Snowpocalypse

 

For the last few days, we’ve been digging ourselves out of the latest polar vortex to sweep the eastern US.  Because of it, I haven’t left the street I am living on since Thursday, January 21.

It started with an inch of snow on Wednesday.  My neighbors shoveled the snow out of their driveways , but I held off, knowing there was much more to come.  Besides, I was busy fixing a toilet in the house.  Because I’m no plumber, I got it to work eventually, but it took four days and six trips to Home Depot for parts – definitely a learning experience.

The main snowfall started around 7 AM on Friday, and lasted all day.  Here is the snow cake we got on our patio table.  When I stuck a tape measure in it, it went eleven inches, so I’m declaring that the amount of snow we got.  Elsewhere in the yard, measurements varied from 8 1/2 to 13 1/2 inches.  Notice also how the snow tapers on the railing as it piled up.

IMG_3631

And here is a video of how the rest of the city looked on Friday.  There wasn’t any curfew imposed; you don’t see many cars because the city government told everyone, “If you don’t have to be out, stay indoors.”  I stayed in because I remembered very well how I got stuck when I drove in snow like this last year, and apparently that happened to a lot of folks on Interstate 75.  Don’t worry, Lexington got enough snow cleared away from the downtown area for Saturday’s basketball game to go on; they know where their priorities are!

Late on Saturday I went out and shoveled the snow out of the driveway.  At noon on Sunday I called for a snowplow to come to my street, and it showed up at 5 PM, followed by three salt trucks.  Since we weren’t running out of anything yet, I stayed home one more day.  Tomorrow I have an appointment, and Leive wants me to get a few groceries, so then I will see how the rest of the town is recovering.

Leave a Reply

