The Golden Age of Podcasts

Online learning has really come into its own during the past twenty years.  Back in the 1990s, webmasters with a message to share were pretty much limited to what they could do with text and pictures.  In others, reading something on the Internet was a lot like reading a book.  But now that broadband Internet service is widely available, our ability to transmit data is no longer severely limited, making it feasible to use audio and video tools as well.  One of those tools is the podcast.  The kind of lessons that we used to order on CDs, from organizations like The Teaching Company, can now be downloaded off websites.  And they come in a variety of subjects.  To give just one example, the church I used to attend in Florida has been posting sermons online since 2008, at least.

Call me a Johnny-come-lately.  I should have kept better track of history podcasts, inasmuch as I’m preoccupied with history and I was a teacher until 2006.  I did download and listen to one of the first history podcasts, 12 Byzantine Rulers by Lars Brownworth, back around 2007.  And since 2012 I have been keeping up with two of the most successful history podcasts, Dan Carlin’s “Hardcore History” and Rob Monaco’s “The Podcast History of the World.”  Just two weeks ago, The Huffington Post ran a story on Dan Carlin, showing how far he has come.

But I have to admit it took me by surprise when a bunch of other podcasts, usually focusing on one aspect of history, started popping up like mushrooms on a wet lawn.  I just started hearing about most of them two months ago.  Here’s a list of what I have found so far:

Of course I haven’t listened to all of them yet.  Besides the ones I have already mentioned, I listened to “The Egyptian History Podcast” (because ancient Egypt is a perennial interest of mine), “History on Fire,” “Our Fake History,” and since my latest history papers covered Australia, I listened to “Rum, Rebels & Ratbags.”  Now I am working on “The Lesser Bonapartes,” Mike Duncan’s “History of Rome,” “The Eastern Border,” and “Angry History.”  When I am done with those I will probably tackle the Russian and Chinese history podcasts listed above, because those are favorite subjects of mine, too, but since they have more than a hundred episodes each, I’m sure they will be a big demand on my schedule.  So many podcasts, so little time!

Anyway, I shared the links so you can enjoy these discoveries as well, at least until I upload or update my next history paper.  Happy listening!

2 responses to “The Golden Age of Podcasts

  1. Hey, Curonian from The Eastern Border podcast here. Thank you for listening to our small show, and we hope that you’re enjoying us! Also, thank you for mentioning us on your blog, as that really helps us.
    Cheers from Latvia!

  2. Thank you for the kind words, Curonian! The Eastern Border caught my attention because when I was in college, I majored in Russian history. Yes, Leonid Brezhnev was alive when I graduated, and much has happened since then. Therefore your podcast is a refresher course for me, reminding me of what I should know. I have also written papers on Russian history that you can see over here: http://xenohistorian.faithweb.com/russia/ I will have to update the last chapter soon, because I last worked on it in 2000, right after Boris Yeltsin resigned. Happy New Year in Latvia, and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

