South of the Border, the End is in Sight

Long-time readers will know that I have been working on a complete history of Latin America for nearly four years, since November 2010.  The sixth and last chapter in the series, going from 1959 to the present, I began composing last March.  Well, this morning I finished composing that chapter, so in MS Word document formats, the whole history series is now complete.

Of course, not too many people are going to see a Word document from my desk; I’d have to e-mail it, at a minimum.  The next task is to convert the document into HTML form and check all the tags to make sure the resulting webpage looks just right.  Because I like to do all this myself, it’s a tedious job, though it doesn’t require as much brain-sweat as the original composition.  My guess is that it will take another month before the whole thing is uploaded for the world to see.

Because I am covering current events in thirty-four countries, this is the second longest history I have written so far; in Word it came out to 167 pages.  As a webpage I expect to present it in seven parts, and as with Chapter 5, I will include plenty of links for those who only want to read part of it, like the history of one country.

I’ve gotten a few e-mails from friends who are eager to see this series completed.  Well, your wait is almost over!  In the meantime, click on the link below if you want to take another look at the previous five chapters:

http://xenohistorian.faithweb.com/latinam/index.html

One response to “South of the Border, the End is in Sight

Leave a Reply

