A Wet Derby Week (So Far)

Yes, next Saturday is the 140th annual Kentucky Derby, and as they do every year, the state’s radio and TV stations are building the hype for it.  So are the stores that sell Derby-related items, like flowery hats and Derby pies.

Well, I hope the track can dry out during the next three days.  We’ve been getting rain here almost constantly since Monday; more than three inches so far.  Previously this month was running an inch on the dry side, as Aprils go; now we’ve got at least a two-inch surplus on the rainfall.  Fortunately it wasn’t worse, and it easily could have been; this is part of the same storm system that dropped tornadoes on Arkansas and Mississippi, and twenty inches of rain on Pensacola, FL.

Besides storms, for the past few months our house has been under attack from telemarketers.  We have gotten as many as fourteen calls per day from those annoying scammers.  I know they’re not honest because they don’t comply with the law; they keep calling though we are on the Do Not Call list, use illegal recorded messages and mask which numbers they are really calling from.  And the calls also make my parrot scream – we want to preserve what little sanity Brin-Brin has left!

In March I tried to bring my phone service provider into the game, by blocking numbers I know are telemarketers and those that don’t show up on the caller ID.  No such luck.  They only allowed me to block twelve numbers (I have counted more than a hundred that they are calling from), and the unknown call blocker service didn’t work.  A stronger pesticide was in order, so last Sunday I ordered a call blocker device from Amazon called Sentry.  It arrived on Tuesday, so I set it up that evening; today was the first full day it was operational.  Only two calls came in to our land line today; one was me calling Leive from work, the other was an obvious telemarketer (518-417-1194), but the point is that because the latter wasn’t approved to call us, Leive didn’t hear the phone ring.

The next time you call our house, you will hear a voice with an English accent (our phone butler!) telling you to push “0” if you are a legitimate caller.  If you do, your number shows up on my caller ID, and I can add it to a whitelist or blacklist.  If I accept it, you can call me normally after that; those numbers I blacklist won’t show up anymore.  So far I think it works, but if it doesn’t you can still reach us on our cell phones.

 

Click on the picture to check it out if you’re having the same problem with unwanted calls.

Leave a Reply

