Is Winter Back Already?

First, I’d like to wish Happy Passover/Chag Sameach for those who observe that holiday, inasmuch as it begins tonight:

Pesach_card

I would also like to remind readers that the first of the four so-called “blood moons” in 2014-2015 will begin a few hours from now (see my message from last January 6).  Unfortunately, we won’t be able to watch it from this part of Kentucky.  The sky is covered with clouds right now, from the cold front passing through.

Speaking of cold fronts, the strange weather we’ve been having this year isn’t over yet.  During the past week it warmed up nicely, reaching a high of 79 degrees on Saturday and 83 on Sunday.  It’s definitely more like what Leive and I are used to, after all the years we spent in Florida.  Indoors, the warming trend was felt the most upstairs and the least downstairs, causing a remarkable split in temperatures:  in the 80s on the top floor, 70s on the main floor, and 60s in the basement.  If it had gotten just one degree warmer yesterday, the air conditioning would have come on upstairs.

Today, however, I began to see a change.  While the high temperature of 73 meant I still didn’t need a jacket when I went outside, it was overcast instead of sunny, and we got a bit of rain.  Now the cold front is threatening to bring it down to 35 tonight, and maybe below freezing tomorrow night!  With the neighborhood in full bloom, that could cause a flower massacre.

The most impressive participants in the flower show right now are the ornamental pear trees.  I think Saturday was the peak day for them, because on Sunday I started seeing a few of their blossoms on the ground, and because the flower buds open before the leaf buds, on Sunday I also started seeing green leaves with the white blossoms.  On Sunday I took a few pictures of the pear trees on my street, just in case the flowers don’t survive this week’s freeze.  I will finish by sharing them:

IMG_3240

IMG_3241

IMG_3242

IMG_3243

IMG_3246

Enjoy spring while it lasts!

Leave a Reply

