Full-Blooming Transition

Yes, I’ve been too busy in the real world to write anything here since Monday.  And the city I’m in hasn’t been too happy since the UConn Huskies beat our UK Wildcats in the NCAA championship game.  While there’s still a chance UK will win a 9th championship someday, it won’t be this year.  And then the ladies’ basketball team for UConn won their championship, so this week Connecticut has two things to crow about.

I did see one funny bit about this today.  A FOX News anchor (I don’t know what city she was in), mistakenly called UConn “the NAACP champions.”  Please go easy on the comments about her, though.  I think I was thirty years old before I knew what NCAA stood for, and I didn’t know how the college basketball playoffs worked until five years ago, after I had moved to Kentucky.  College basketball isn’t a big deal in Florida, where it has to compete with professional sports leagues and college football for fans.

The “full-blooming” part of the title refers to the flowering trees in the neighborhood, especially the ornamental pears.  Because it was so cold last winter, the trees are finally getting their act together, two weeks later than they normally do.  If you come down my street this week, the trees will be white all over, and this time it’s not because of snow.

Of course with April 15 just around the corner, one of my activities is getting my taxes done.  My goal is to put it all in the mail tomorrow, since I won’t be getting refund this year.  Besides that and my history projects (I started composing Chapter 6 of my Latin American history last week), I am also getting ready for my new job.  The background check is apparently done, but there’s additional paperwork that needs to be filled out before my first day.  Yesterday I got the e-mail with my official start date:  I start on Monday, April 21.  That marks two years and one day since my last job ended, so the whole family is definitely seeing this month as a new beginning.

Leave a Reply

