The Fourth Edition of My Indian History

Since December I have been updating my papers on Indian history. These cover the seven countries I consider to be “South Asia”: Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. They were badly in need of an update; I first wrote about Indian history in 1988, rewrote the papers in 1991 and 1998, and only gave them minor, cosmetic changes for the next fifteen years.

All four chapters saw new stuff. For Chapters 2 and 3 I mainly added new pictures, while Chapters 1 and 4 were completely rewritten. For Chapter 1 that meant adding new material to cover archaeological discoveries since the 1970s. With Chapter 4 there are five new sections. India and Pakistan got new sections for events in recent history, and Bangladesh got its own section; previously I simply lumped Bangladesh with Pakistan, which made sense when most people were old enough to remember when Bangladesh was called East Pakistan. Finally, new sections were created for Bhutan and the Maldives, two countries I barely mentioned previously, because it was hard to remember anything that had happened there.

Chapter 4: Recent South Asian History

  • The Road to Independence
  • India Under the Nehru Dynasty
  • Is This the Indian Century?
  • Pakistan: Between a Rock and a Hard Place
  • Pakistan in the War on Terror
  • Bangladesh: The Difficult Years Since Independence
  • Nepal: An Ex-Kingdom In the Clouds
  • Bhutan: A Real-Life Shangri-La?
  • Sri Lanka: Paradise Lost–and Regained?
  • Maldives: The Sunny Islands

And if you want to take another look at Chapters 1-3, go to http://xenohistorian.faithweb.com/india/index.html . I hope you like the updates!

Now I should get back to the project I have been working on for most of the past three and a half years, a complete history of Latin America. So far I have written five chapters for the lands “South of the Border,” covering events up to 1959. One more chapter will probably complete the project. I put off working on it for the last four months because I couldn’t think of a good title to cover the years from 1959 to the present; if you can think of one, suggestions are welcome.

Leave a Reply

