No Job, No Hope of a Job

The light at the end of the tunnel turned out to be the lamp of an oncoming train.  I learned late this afternoon that I didn’t get the job I interviewed for last October 2.  That was the first interview I have had in nine months, and the most promising job I have applied for since this long-term unemployment started.

Tomorrow marks three years since I was laid off from the job that brought me to Kentucky in the first place.  Next Sunday marks a year and a half since the last job of any kind ended.  And with both the economy and the government in a shambles, I don’t see my prospects improving anytime soon.

One thing I have learned from pounding the pavement is that applying for a job is like applying for a loan.  You are more likely to get it if you don’t really need one.

Leave a Reply

