One million cockroaches escape Chinese farm | News.com.au

Sorry for the delay.  This story in the link below is two weeks old, but I just saw it now.  What grabbed me was the line which says that the Chinese guy who started the cockroach farm paid 100,000 yuan for 102 kilograms of cockroach eggs.  That works out to $80 a pound.  And the scientific name given (Periplaneta americana) belongs to the common American cockroach.  The same species of bug I used to step on and battle in the kitchen, when I lived in Florida!  The same bug I hope never gets established in Kentucky, where I live now.  People are right when they say one man’s trash is another man’s treasure; what an opportunity!  The only drawback I see is that it will take quite some time to collect enough roach eggs to make a profit, even if you visit every dirty restaurant in town.

One million cockroaches escape Chinese farm | News.com.au.

Leave a Reply

