Stinkers at the Basement Door

Officially I live within the boundaries of Kentucky’s second largest city, but with the nearest farm less than a mile away, we get our share of wildlife in the neighborhood.  I regularly see birds, rabbits and chipmunks in the yard; once I saw an opossum on the doorstep; and we don’t have to go far to encounter raccoons, foxes, even deer and coyotes.  Leive and I have always preferred unexpected critters outside over concrete and the hustle & bustle of city life; we liked it that way even in Florida, where our house got invaded by bugs, and sometimes by reptiles.

On Saturday night/Sunday morning I was burning the midnight oil, here at my laptop, when I heard a strange noise from outside.  It sounded a little like some birds fighting at the bird feeder in the backyard.  Nothing strange about that, if it happens in the day, but this was the first time I heard anyone out there in the middle of the night.  When I looked out the basement door, I saw two skunks under the feeder.  Unfortunately (or should I say fortunately?) I don’t have visual proof; they ran away when I tried to take a picture of them.

The skunks didn’t hurt anything, so I’ll let them come back if they want to, and keep my distance.  In Florida I learned that most animals don’t bother you, if you don’t bother them.  Still this episode reminds me of a picture I got in my e-mail years ago.  Here it is below; when I got it, it came with a caption to let you know what the kids said:  “Oh look, kittens!”

skunk-kittens

Leave a Reply

