Chapter 1, Before the Russians

Previously, I had the following papers in my Russian history series:

1. Medieval Russia (before 1682 A.D.)

2. Imperial Russia (1682-1917)

3. Soviet Russia (1917-1985)

4. Commonwealth Russia (1985-1999)

Now I have completed and uplifted a fifth paper. You might think it covers Russia after 1999, and while the last paper badly needs updating (I broke off when Vladimir Putin replaced Boris Yeltsin), I didn’t do that. Instead I went with a “prequel”; I greatly expanded the section covering Russia before the first Russian state was founded, in 862 A.D., finally doing justice to all the various peoples living in northern Eurasia before there were any Russians. Here is a link to the new chapter, and a list of the subheadings in it:

Chapter 1: Before the Russians

o Introduction

o The First Steppe Lords

o The Cimmerians

o The Scythians

o The Sarmatians

o The Kingdom of the Cimmerian Bosporus

o The Goths

o The Huns

o The Avars

o The Rise of the Bulgars

o The Khazars

o The Magyars and Petchenegs

o The Main Ingredients — The Slavs and Varangians

Of course this meant a renumbering of the chapters already in that folder. The old Chapter 1 is now Chapter 2, and when I get done removing redundant paragraphs, it will just cover Russian history from 862 to 1682. Likewise Chapter 2 became Chapter 3, Chapter 3 became Chapter 4, and Chapter 4 became Chapter 5. I just finished updating the links to those pages from other parts of the website.

This is the first time I have done a prequel on the site, unless you count The Genesis Chronicles, which are basically a prequel to everything else. Regular readers will know that when I start an historical narrative I like to go way back, further in the past than most historians will go. For my North American history series, for instance, I did not start with the Declaration of Independence, Jamestown or even Columbus – I started with the ice age. I did not do that with the Russians, however, because I composed most of those papers in 1990, before I had developed the writing style I am using now. Back then it made sense to breeze through the pre-Russian tribes, from the Cimmerians to the Khazars, but now the early birds will get equal time, in part to give me a chance to mention the interesting archaeological discoveries made over the past twenty years.

Okay, here is the link again; check it out. I hope you enjoy reading my newest history paper as much as I did researching and writing it!

Leave a Reply

