Help! Harry Potter is Eating Up a Former Workplace of Mine!

Since I moved out of Florida, Universal Studios has opened up a Harry Potter-themed park in Orlando, and it has been a roaring success. So much of a success, that an extension to the attraction has just been announced, called Diagon Alley.

Universal Orlando announces Harry Potter theme park expansion | Fox News.

I have never read any of the Harry Potter stories, and only caught a few bits of the movies, when they appeared on TV. When the first movie played in the theaters, my daughter Lindy asked me if I would take her to see it. I said no, but I would take her to the first “Lord of the Rings” movie, which was in the theaters at the same time, because I read J.R.R. Tolkien’s book when I was a teenager, and considered that a better story. We went to see LOTR, and that was that. I can understand why Harry Potter is popular, though.

What got my attention the most was a line in the middle of the article. Quote:

“The new area is taking the place of the former Jaws ride, which closed in January 2012.”

Unquote:  I bet the Universal Studios management came to see Jaws as more of a liability than an asset.  In March 1998 I worked a temporary job at Universal Studios as a technical writer, and my office was right above the garage where they did repairs on the boats and sharks from the Jaws attraction.  Because the sharks have to be in the water, they require more maintenance than any other audioanimatronic attraction in the park.  If I ever go back there, I don’t think anything will look familiar.

My Universal Studios assignment was one of the most enjoyable jobs I have had over the years.  I was writing the draft of a maintenance manual, for the Terminator 2 attraction.  One benefit was that during lunch hour, I could sneak into the park and go on the rides, pretending to be just another tourist — all in the name of research, of course!  As long as I was back by 1 PM, everything was all right.  Boy, my family felt sorry for me when I came home groaning that I was going to have to do King Kong the next day, LOL.

The only regret I have from working there is that I was given six weeks to complete the draft.  I finished it in four weeks, so the job ended two weeks early, too!  That was a lesson I did not forget.

3 responses to “Help! Harry Potter is Eating Up a Former Workplace of Mine!

  1. Charles, HIGHLY recommend Harry Potter! The books and the movie adaptations! VERY fun. The Lord of the Rings books were indeed (and the move adaptations!) a better story as far as mystique and complexity, but HP has a rich and large story and world itself! You got nothing to lose a few hours of your free time! Just read through the first book, you’ll know what I mean 🙂

  2. BTW, I know life is stressful for you right now, but just know that as a decade-long fan, I am highly excited for the next chapter of your Latin America history! Best of luck!

  3. Hi there I am so excited I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Digg for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a
    incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

