Up At the Crack of Noon

Not really, but it seemed like that for a little while.  When I woke up this morning, the clock said it was almost 8 AM, meaning I had overslept.  It was also darker than usual outside; lately the sun has come up before 7:30.  Then when I saw clocks in other parts of the house, I realized it was really around 7 AM.  The “smart clock” in the bedroom had jumped forward an hour again, like it always does on the first Sunday of April.  It will never learn that since 2007, we haven’t started daylight saving time on that date.

Speaking of annual events, this weekend marks seven years since I first set foot in Kentucky.  Then I was eager to move here, because I saw the flowers and trees in full bloom, so I got a great first impression of Lexington; it was like the whole city had put on its best outfit to welcome me!  In the last few messages I mentioned that the springtime flowers are late this year, so the neighborhood doesn’t look much like it did at this time in 2006.  Now I’m wondering if I still would have wanted to move here, had my first visit happened in 2013.

Last time I forgot to mention that it is also time for the spring horse races at Keeneland; every year that starts with the first weekend in April.  This year, however, we have a basketball distraction; tomorrow the University of Louisville will be playing in the NCAA championship game.  Whereas last year it was the turn of the UK Wildcats to win, this year it looks like it is the turn of the UL Cardinals.  I wonder if that is a Louisville Cardinal in the cartoon below?

1rmoAO.AuSt.79

One response to “Up At the Crack of Noon

  1. I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure
    of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.
    Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two pictures.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

Leave a Reply

