Another Connecticut Assignment?

I mentioned around the beginning of this year that some companies are starting to hire again; I am seeing a few more “help wanted” signs than I did in years past.  This cartoon appeared in our local newspaper, The Lexington Herald-Leader, last January, and gives you an idea of what jobs are available in our area.

KYjobs

It sounds fine and dandy, but I’m not ready to declare the Great Recession over yet, because nobody in Kentucky has a suitable job for me.  The high-tech market that attracted me here in the first place has largely dried up, and I haven’t seen signs of that coming back.  Consequently my last job, from June 2011 to April 2012, sent me to Danbury, CT, more than 800 miles away.  For me Kentucky has been a very nice place to live but not a good place to work.

Well, my job situation could be changing later this month.  This morning I got a call from the recruiter who got me the job in Connecticut.  That job is available again, for another assignment that could last at least six months.  Other candidates have been submitted for the position, so it’s not a sure thing I could be going.  Still, Leive and I are going to be doing a lot of planning in the event it happens, like how to get reliable transportation for both of us, and where to stay if the apartment I used last time is not available.

One response to “Another Connecticut Assignment?

  1. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding
    your RSS feed to my Google account. I look
    forward to new updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

Leave a Reply

