The Great Sleet Storm

I am not going to believe any more predictions from groundhogs.  Last year the most famous groundhog, Punxsutawney Phil, saw his shadow, meaning there would be six more weeks of winter.  Instead, the weather warmed up early for both Connecticut (where I was staying at the time) and Kentucky.  This year the groundhog didn’t see his shadow, and though April is only a week away, we’re still getting snow, and temperatures are 20 degrees below normal.

This morning, as expected, snow replaced yesterday’s rain.  It fell steadily, but did not accumulate on the road, so it didn’t interfere with driving when I went out.  But oh, the sleet! When I first started blogging back in January 2007, sleet was a new phenomenon to me.  Now I have seen more sleet today than on any other day in the past six years.  It fell for most of the afternoon, with brief interruptions of snow and rain to keep things interesting.

Also, it just occurred to me that it was on this day in 1992, that my family and I experienced central Florida’s greatest hailstorm.  Then hail the size of golf balls dented cars and ruined roofs over an area forty miles across, from Orlando to DeLand.  Now twenty-one years to the day after getting caught in the great Florida hailstorm, I was caught in the great Kentucky sleet storm.  The good news is that unlike other forms of precipitation, sleet doesn’t hurt anything or anybody.

One response to “The Great Sleet Storm

  1. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you
    design this website yourself or did you hire someone
    to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. cheers

Leave a Reply

