Winter Here and There

This morning it was 43 degrees when I woke up, and the temperature fell slowly for the rest of the day.  Like I have said before, in all my years in Florida, we never had a day where the highest temperature came at dawn—or before dawn.

On the radio today I heard a comedian named Lewis Black declare that Valentine’s Day should not be celebrated in February.  As he put it, February is the dreariest month of the year, and while a holiday dedicated to love is a good idea, it’s hard to celebrate when your partner is all stuffed up with the flu.  I’m inclined to agree after our experience this winter; now Leive thinks she has the same bug I had last week.  All things considered, these days the healthiest member of our household is Brin-Brin the parrot!

But when I hear the news from the Northeast, I realize I was very lucky.  Today New York and the New England states are getting hit by their first blizzard since January 2011.  They’re expecting up to three feet of snow in the area between Bridgeport and Boston.  I knew it must be really bad when I tuned in Sean Hannity’s talk show, and instead of ranting against our incompetent politicians in Washington, he was telling us how fierce he expected the storm would be, and how his part of New York hasn’t recovered from Hurricane Sandy yet.

Remember I was working in Connecticut at this time last year?  If my goal was to escape winter, I couldn’t have picked a better time to go there; the Yankees claim that they missed out on winter altogether!  And do you remember that I first applied for the job in January 2011, but wasn’t accepted until I applied again in May?  If I had gotten the job the first time around, I could have been caught in the last blizzard, too.

By the way, this week I received notice of a technical writer job opening in Shelton, CT.  Leive doesn’t want me to work in Connecticut again, but I think I’ll apply for the job, because I’m qualified for it and the prospect of getting it amuses me.  First, my family lived in Shelton forty-eight years ago, when it was called Huntington.  Go to the page entitled My Old Connecticut Home to see what the place looked like, when I revisited Shelton/Huntington in June 2011.  Second, the job description says it has to do with manuals for rotary-wing aircraft.  The only company I know of that works with helicopters in that part of Connecticut is Sikorski, the company my father once worked for!

My, oh my.  After I got laid off, some folks, including Leive, brought up the idea of moving back to Florida, and I said that would be a step in the wrong direction, now that we’re firmly established in Kentucky.  If that is so, then returning to my former home town before my Florida days, and working for the same company that once employed my father, would be an even worse case of regression, wouldn’t it?

One response to “Winter Here and There

  1. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add to my
    blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

Leave a Reply

