The Greater Chill Is Here

Previously I said I couldn’t see any rules for the weather here in Kentucky, and longtime residents told me there weren’t any.  Well, it looks like I found a pattern.  For the first part of January the cold isn’t too bad.  Most of the time, even when there is snow, the temperatures are in the 30s and 40s, uncomfortable but acceptable.  Then in the third week of the month, we get a super chiller of a freeze; temperatures approach zero for the rest of January and much of February.

That pattern happened right on schedule this year.  Yesterday an Arctic blast arrived to bring temperatures down to twenty degrees below the normal level for winter around here.  It was 11 degrees this morning, and I don’t think it got even close to freezing today.  Now temperatures are falling again, with tonight’s low forecast at 12.  It will be warmer tomorrow, but for the rest of the week it is only expected to go above freezing on Friday.  I find it all the more amazing that the grass outside is still mostly green; if I took a picture of it, you probably wouldn’t think it was taken in the middle of winter.

I’m thinking of calling the part of winter in December and early January the “Lesser Chill,” which becomes the “Greater Chill” in late January and February.  As for Leive, she is staying with her space heater in a little room upstairs as much as possible.  Forget about asking her to go outside; she claimed she got a chill when she went to the kitchen, where it is currently 67 degrees.

2 responses to “The Greater Chill Is Here

  1. I was suggested this web site by my cousin.
    I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re
    incredible! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

