The 40 Most Insane Things That Happened In Florida In 2012

I am seriously thinking of adding a new category to this blog, for messages having to do with Florida.  If I do, I’ll call it something like “The Old Country,” because I lived in the Orlando area from 1966 to 2006.  Being that close to Walt Disney World meant I didn’t realize how unreal life in Florida can be, until after I moved away.  While I was there, the main reminder I got of strangeness came from a group called the Florida League Against Progress (FLAP), which tried to discourage people from moving to Florida by publishing a calendar every year.  This calendar had a negative, and often bizarre news story, for every day of the year!

Now here is a list full of offbeat stories that would surely go into the FLAP calendar if it was still being published.  Many of them involve critters, no surprise there.  No wonder Chuck Shepherd, the author of News of the Weird, lives in the Sunshine State (St. Petersburg, if I remember right).

The 40 Most Insane Things That Happened In Florida In 2012.

One response to “The 40 Most Insane Things That Happened In Florida In 2012

Leave a Reply

