Drinking to Lose Energy?

I have never been a fan of energy drinks.  First, it always seemed to me that those little cans are overpriced.  Second, I have high blood pressure, so long ago I figured it wasn’t safe for me to drink them.  Thus, I will stick with coffee any day.  What I do like is the hilarious flying contest sponsored every year by the Red Bull people, the Red Bull Flugtag.

Then a few days ago I discovered the opposite thing in a gas station:  an anti-energy drink.  Called Marley’s Mellow Mood, the can had a picture of Bob Marley on it, against a red, yellow and green background (the official reggae colors, in case you didn’t know, taken from the colors of the Ethiopian flag).  The text on the can said that the drink will help you relax, with the same soothing effect as Bob Marley’s music.

marleys_rt_sml-thumb-560x373

For more than a decade the public has been looking for ways to become fully awake with just a drink.  Have we overdone it, if we now need another drink to chill out?  You may have heard of the poor person who needs a stimulant to get going in the morning and a sleeping pill when he/she goes to bed at night.  It looks to me like we now have a liquid version of the same thing.

On the other hand, if your mood is to:

“Get up, stand up, stand up for your rights,

Get up, stand up, don’t give up the fight.”

The Marley family also sells Jamaican and Ethiopian coffees, appropriately named Marley Coffee.

On an unrelated note, back on September 7, 2008, I wrote a message praising muscadines, my favorite kind of grapes.  Today I was pleasantly surprised to find them in two locations, a roadside stand and a Wal-Mart Neighborhood Market.  I wasn’t expecting to see them for another month, and I missed out on them last year, because I was in Connecticut during the season (most of the Yankees I talked to had never even heard of muscadines).  Apparently this crop came from Georgia.  How did they get them so early?  Normally muscadines are ready to pick in my part of Florida at this time.  Shouldn’t the Georgia crop come later, since the Florida growing season begins in February, and the Georgia growing season begins in March?

Leave a Reply

