What We’ve Been Up To

It has been nearly two weeks since I wrote about my family’s activities, so here’s a catch-up on what Leive, Brin-Brin, Illaria and myself have been doing.

First of all, we went through a really soggy weekend.  It rained almost constantly from late on Saturday to Monday morning.  For the month of April, Lexington’s rainfall was an inch below normal; now we’re an inch above normal for the first half of May.  Evidently nature has made up for last month’s shortfall.

Illaria, the Egyptian woman staying with us, started a nursing class on Monday, 5/7.  I’ve been taking her to class each morning, and one of my pastor’s daughters has been bringing her home.  Getting a textbook was a challenge, but she did it, and also passed the exams given so far.  I expect the class will be done at the end of this week, then she will probably look for a job and an apartment.

Brin-Brin seems to have learned how to tell his name from that of others.  There have been times in the past when Leive called for me, shouting “Honey!”, and then Brin-Brin called out with that clucking sound he makes most of the time.  I don’t know if he was trying to help his owner, or if that silly bird was just parroting Leive (parrots are known to do that, after all).  Well, yesterday Leive was checking to see if Illaria came home without telling us.  She shouted “Illaria!” and Brin-Brin responded as before.  Then she said “Honey!” and Brin-Brin called out again, too.  But when she said “Brin-Brin!”, he kept silent.  Here is another time when I wonder what really goes on in that little bird-brain of his.

For Leive, Saturday was the big day.  That is when my church held the annual international banquet, a tradition Leive helped start (see my message from May 6, 2009, for pictures from the first international banquet).  She cooked up two of her most popular Philippine dishes, lumpias (egg rolls) and pancit (noodles).  Of course the lumpias went right away, like they always do, but she did bring back some pancit for me to have later.  The church also had a missionary to the Philippines speak; he’ll be going to Baguio City next month.  Unfortunately I could not attend this time, because somebody from the family had to be at the LegalShield functions described below.

Speaking of LegalShield, yesterday I finally updated the graphics and links on both this blog and The Xenophile Historian, so that they say “LegalShield” instead of “Pre-Paid Legal.”  I can’t believe I waited eight months to do that.

My main activity has been pounding the pavement, looking for a job and prospecting for my LegalShield business.  That’s the main reason why I haven’t posted much here for the month so far.  Along that line, did you notice in the commercials I posted in my May 4 message, that the LegalShield attorney wears an orange tie?  That seems to be becoming our new uniform in the business; when James Kelly, the top LegalShield Associate of Kentucky, came to Lexington two weeks ago, he was wearing an orange tie, too.  Therefore I went looking for an orange tie of my own.  Kohl’s had a few, but they wanted $20-$22 for them, so I figured I could do better elsewhere.  Sure enough, on Friday I found some in the nearest Meijer store to my house, and they had been marked down from $13 to $10.  Of course I bought one and wore it to the next day’s training seminar.

The seminar was held in Louisville, and featured Jermaine Johnson, a youth pastor from Los Angeles who is making $400,000 a year in this business.  Watch this video for a sample of what he had to share with us:

 

The previous Monday, Mr. Johnson decided to visit Lexington as well as Louisville, so I got to hear him twice on the same day.  The fun part was that Mr. Kelly gave me a special assignment.  When he saw my orange tie in Louisville, he asked me to go back to Meijer and buy the rest of the orange ties; I don’t know if they were for him, or for other members of his team.  Thus, between the two sessions, I was driving to both of the Meijer stores in Lexington, looking for orange ties.  The store near my home had four more ties, while the other store didn’t have any at all – mission accomplished.  A Meijer employee simply said that orange ties are hard to find in Kentucky.  I bet they are easier to get in Tennessee; you know the team color of the University of Tennessee, right?  Don’t worry, Mr. Kelly reimbursed me for the ties.

Leave a Reply

