Here’s What To Watch Tomorrow

Remember yesterday when I mentioned the University of Louisville Cardinals, the in-state rivals of the University of Kentucky Wildcats?  Well, I just learned that today is the day for the biggest grudge match in our basketball season — the game between the “Cats” and the “Cards.”  I understand that part of the reason for the rivalry is that UL’s coach, Rick Pitino, was UK’s coach in the 1990s.  This year the game is in Louisville, so while the game is going on, people will be watching it, and there will be hardly any activity in this city, meaning I won’t have much traffic to fight when I go out.  And I bet the UK-UL game is always a colorful sight, with the fans of one team wearing red and the other team’s fans wearing blue.

But I’m not here to talk about sports; other people can do a better job of that than me, especially in Kentucky.  I’ll give some family updates next.  My father has gotten better, to the point that he may even come home from the hospital today.  My brother is driving up from the Everglades to spend the New Year with him, so I expect to hear more after he arrives.  Leive got the urge to cook a turkey for tonight, no surprise because she didn’t cook for Christmas; last night I stopped at Wal-Mart to get a turkey for her.  Gene and Rezia will probably be over, too, like they were for one or two previous New Year’s Eves.

Speaking of New Year’s Eve, I don’t get it.  Sure, a new year is an occasion worth celebrating; for some cultures, from ancient Babylon to modern China, it’s the most important holiday of all.  But I never saw the point in getting drunk and acting stupid, especially in this age, when you can get in trouble for posting pictures from your parties on Facebook.  Now I’m reminded of the jokes Yaacov Smirnov, the Russian comedian, told about American holidays back in the 1980s.  For New Year’s Day he said:

New Year’s Day: This is one holiday I haven’t completely figured out yet.  It marks the first day of the new year, but as far as celebrating, all Americans seem to do is lie in bed with an ice pack on their head, moan, and drink Alka-Seltzer.”

Last Tuesday I mentioned that a program about Pre-Paid Legal Services is coming up on TV.  For those who missed that message, I’ll plug it again.  On New Year’s Day at 12 noon and 4 PM (Eastern Time), the FOX Business Network will be running a program called “Pre-Paid Legal Services, Inc.: A Business For Today.” It’s a 30-minute show; watch it if you are near a TV set at that time (forget the Tournament of Roses Parade), and if you like what you see, contact me!

See you in 2011.

Leave a Reply

