One Foot In Orlando, the Other Foot In Lexington

Yesterday marked exactly three and a half years since I moved out of Florida, my home state since April 1966. Because I made an overnight stop on that trip, in a run-down motel near Macon, today marks three and a half years for me in Kentucky.

I heard once that the human body replaces every one of its cells over a seven year period, in effect making a carbon copy of itself during that time. If that is true, I can no longer joke about living in Kentucky with a Florida body and a Middle Eastern mind; it’s only half a Florida body now! Maybe it’s time I finally get one of those blue University of Kentucky jerseys; it will come in handy on my next trip south, in case the folks down there forget where I’m from.

Leave a Reply

