I Could Have Sworn I Wasn’t the Only Conservative in Central Florida

Last November I noted with dismay that Tom Feeney, my former congressman in Seminole Country, FL, had been voted out of office.  Now I’m getting a peek at the fellow who replaced Ric Keller, the congressman in my father’s district.  Hoo-wee, this Alan Grayson is barking mad!  And I thought Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer was too liberal; how did Grayson get elected?  You wouldn’t think the electorate would lurch THAT far to the left after a single voter (me) moves away.  Below are some videos of his contributions to the health care debate, where he claims Republicans want you to die, and that the current situation is a “holocaust.”  Even James Carville, the Clinton attack dog, thought it was too much, when for a TV interview, Grayson called the Republicans “knuckle-dragging Neanderthals.”

8th District Representative Alan Grayson.  One more reason why I’m glad I’m not in Florida anymore.

In other news, the Obamas have gone to Copenhagen to make their case for having the 2016 Olympics in Chicago.  Others have already commented on the president’s unusual list of priorities, in view of what else is going on:  the recession, the health care debate, Iran, etc.  What ticked me off was the speech Michelle made when she and Oprah Winfrey arrived in Copenhagen:  “As much of a sacrifice as people say this is for me or Oprah or the president to come for these few days, so many of you in this room have been working for years to bring this bid home.”

When I first heard that, I checked to make sure the Olympic Committee meeting hadn’t been moved from Denmark to Albania.

A “sacrifice,” Ms. Obama?  Give me a break.  I was of the impression that a trip to Denmark would be quite nice, especially when you’ve got a traveling companion with Oprah’s star power.  Every Dane I ever met was an intelligent, cultured person, to start with; you’ll be impressed at how many know English. The country is fully modern and clean, too, not like the Third-world hellholes that seem to be in fashion with the current administration.  Your daughters would probably like to see the famous mermaid statue, too.  And Lego blocks are a Danish invention; maybe the daughters would like some Lego sets as souvenirs.

But now that I think of it, Barack and Michelle might not get along well with the Danes after all.  Unlike some Europeans we know, the Danes still love Americans, and they get it, where the War on Terror is concerned.  Facing those kind of people might be considered a “hardship” if you’re a liberal.  On top of all that, they’re white.

Finally, there was Michelle’s reasoning.  She claims she wants the Olympics in Chicago to “let people know that we understand that sports saves lives, that it makes dreams come true, that it creates visions in kids’ heads to make them think they can be the next David Robinson, the next Barack Obama, the next Nadia Comaneci, the next Oprah Winfrey.”  Or how about the next kid beaten to death with a board?  I understand there is even a website for Chicagoans who don’t want the games in their city, because they will tie up traffic and contribute nothing to the daily lives of most residents.

Leave a Reply

