So It Was a Florida Battery

Well, the battery charger I mention in last Thursday’s message didn’t work, so I used my mother’s car one more time to go to work, and that evening I got another jump start and drove to Wal-Mart for a new battery.  It cost more than the battery I got in January 2006, at the Casselberry Wal-Mart, and I found out why; batteries sold in Florida are only built to stand hot weather.  In fact, the brand name on the old battery was “South.”  It might have lasted longer if I kept it in the garage last winter, like I did in 2007 and 2008.  Unfortunately we have two cars now, so we have to decide which goes inside and which stays out.

Leive and I spent this afternoon in Louisville.  A trip much like the others to that city, except that this time the state fair was going on near our destination (the Hilton near the airport, to attend a seminar), so once I got off the Interstate, the traffic was hideous.  It’s also still unusually cool, do to a cold front that came in yesterday.  I never thought I’d experience an August like this, one that feels like fall already.  If anything, it’s cooler than July was; only once or twice did temperatures even reach the upper 80s.

Leave a Reply

