Chico, Two Years Gone

Before I begin, an update to what I wrote yesterday. I forgot to mention that back in the 1980s, I read some really funny science fiction stories by Poul Anderson & Gordon R. Dickson, the “Hoka” series. They consisted of two anthologies (“Earthman’s Burden” and “Hoka!”) and a novel called “Star Prince Charlie.” The premise was that on another planet is a race of intelligent teddy bears who are friendly, but they love to imitate humans, and get carried away when they find an interesting human character. Over the course of the stories you meet Hokas who are cowboys, space heroes, pirates, baseball players, foreign legionnaires, and so on. And when a Hoka decides he’s Napoleon, it’s okay because nobody thinks he’s crazy! If you’ve read those stories, I ask you this: Now that you’ve seen the CAIR Bears, aren’t you glad the Hokas never wanted to become terrorists?

Chico2

In Memory of Chico

October 4, 2002 – December 13, 2005

And now on to today’s topic. Two years ago this morning our dear lutino cockatiel, Chico, died suddenly. Both Leive and I still miss him because he was such a character, and close to us, especially Leive. I even made a homepage for him, which I used in my class to teach how to make webpages.

Chico’s Corner

But then, I didn’t know I would be leaving Florida in less than a year. If Chico had lived into 2006, the six and a half months between my move to Kentucky and Leive’s would have been tough. Whether he came with me or stayed with Leive, he would have been left alone for most of every day, while we worked. At least when we were both in Florida, one of us (or Lindy) was usually around to respond when he chirped. After I moved, it was more than a year before we felt ready for another bird. Oh Chico, may you still be resting in peace, under the calamondin tree where I buried you.

The replacement bird was Brin-Brin, of course, and if you haven’t read it yet, see my July 15 entry for how we got him. Like Chico, he thinks Leive is his pet human, and today Leive let me know that he also likes the kiddie shows PBS broadcasts in the morning. But whereas Chico preferred Teletubbies, Boobah, and Sesame Street’s Elmo, Brin-Brin showed the most interest in Caillou and Reading Rainbow. And no, I don’t know why.

Here are two of Brin-Brin’s most recent pictures, taken while he stood on Leive’s laptop, watching his favorite video (of another Amazon parrot, of course). First, he quickly learned how to pry a key out. Don’t worry, Leive snapped it back in.

img_0665_sm.jpg

Oh, sorry about that, Mama. Where’s Papa?

img_0666_sm.jpg

Leave a Reply

