Cicada Time

It’s the time of the year when cicada bugs are buzzing loudly in the trees outside.  I’m used to it; we had many more of them in Florida every summer.  Kentucky probably gets as many as Florida when the 13-year and 17-year swarms mature, but this isn’t one of those years; I’m only hearing one at a time, two at the most.  I noticed last week that I didn’t hear them for two or three days; those were days of mild weather, so my guess is that they only want to buzz when the temperature is above 80 degrees.

That mild spell is definitely over.  Yesterday the temperature climbed above 90, one of the first times it did so this summer, and today it went all the way to 97!  Therefore I was outside this morning, but neither Leive nor I wanted to go out in the afternoon.

When I went out it was to attend a job fair in Winchester, the next town east of here, for the General Dynamics Corporation.  General Dynamics is a big government contractor, so if anyone was hiring for the kind of work I did in Connecticut or at Bluegrass Station, it would be these folks.  No such luck.  As soon as I got to the room where the job fair was being held, and signed in that I was looking to become a technical writer, they brushed me off, saying they were only looking for customer service reps at a local hospital!  Arrgh, five years after the Great Recession started, the economy still hasn’t recovered to the point where I can have a job again.

Yesterday marked six years since we brought Brin-Brin home from a bird show in Bardstown.  True, parrots live longer than most of the pets people keep, but still that is impressive.  I suggested celebrating Brin-Brin’s birthday on July 15, since we don’t know what day he really hatched on, just that it was sometime in 1996.  Leive countered with the suggestion that we call July 15 Adoption Day, so happy Adoption Day, Brin-Brin!

On the other hand, today is Tisha B’Av, the saddest day on the Jewish calendar.  See my messages from August 8, 2011 and July 19, 2010, for how it got that way.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://xenohistorian.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/cicada-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

